CA Lottery Home

Who We Are Games Retailers Corporate Social Responsibility Español

Meet the Lottery's Commissioners

A select group of five men and women help guide the Lottery management team on how to increase sales, add to public education budgets and provide entertaining games for customers.  Meet the members of the Lottery Commission - our decision makers!

Click here to watch the video»

calotto building


The leadership behind the California Lottery.

paula laBrie

Paula D. LaBrie
Acting Director

Paula LaBrie, Acting Director for the California State Lottery, most recently served as the Lottery’s Chief Deputy Director. Her range of work experience includes business, law, government and public policy. Prior to joining the Lottery in 2012, LaBrie worked for the AAA of Northern California, Nevada and Utah automobile club as a litigation attorney and subsequently as legislative counsel. Prior to her 18 years with AAA, LaBrie was an associate attorney at the law firm of Carroll, Burdick and McDonough in San Francisco. Before deciding to enter law school she worked as an account administrator at IBM.

LaBrie holds a Master of Law degree in Government and Public Policy from McGeorge School of Law and a Juris Doctor from UC Hastings College of Law. She earned a Bachelor of Science degree from California State University, Hayward, with a major in Business Administration, concentrating in Marketing and Finance and an Associate of Arts degree with a major in Art from Merritt College in Oakland.

  • Nicholas Buchen

    Nicholas Buchen
    Deputy Director

  • davis c

    David Cole
    Deputy Director

  • Jim Hasagawa

    Jim Hasegawa
    Deputy Director
    Business Planning & Research

  • Russ Lopez

    Russ Lopez
    Deputy Director
    Corporate Communications

  • Richard Mahan

    Richard Mahan
    Deputy Director
    Sales & Marketing

  • Terry Murphy

    Terry Murphy
    Deputy Director

  • Paula Negrete

    Paula Negrete
    Deputy Director
    External Affairs

  • chris riesen

    Chris Riesen
    Deputy Director
    Information Technology Services

  • Nicole Soluri

    Nicole Soluri
    Chief Counsel

  • steve t

    Stephen Tacchini
    Deputy Director
    Security & Law Enforcement

  • Michelle Tong

    Michele Tong
    Assistant Deputy Director
    Sales & Marketing

  • Lisa Watson

    Lisa Watson
    Deputy Director Human Resources

  • Robert Zavala

    Roberto Zavala
    Chief Internal Auditor

  • ann-richardson

    Ann Richardson
    Special Advisor to the Chief Deputy